Monday, March 10, 2014

Germany Facts For Kids

Germany is officially known as the Federal Republic of Germany. In German, the country is known as Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Germany is bordered in the north by the North Sea, Denmark and the Baltic Sea; in the east by Poland and Czech Republic; in the south by Austria and Switzerland; and in the west by France, Luxembourg, Belgium and Netherlands.

Here are some Germany facts:

- The state of head is known as the Chancellor
- Germany covers an area of 357,021 square kilometers
- It has temperate seasonal climate
- Germany has a federal parliamentary system of governance comprising of 16 states
- The capital is Berlin, and incidentally it is also the largest city in the country
- Germany is a member of NATO, United Nations, G8 and G9
- It has the third largest economy in the world
- The country has the third highest number of international migrants
- After World War II, the country was divided into two separate states in 1949
- The two states unified in 1990 after the end of the Cold War and collapse of USSR
- The highest point in the country is Zugspitze in the Alps at an elevation of 2,962 meters
- The lowest point in Germany is Wilstermarsch, lying at 3.54 meters below sea level
- Rivers Rhine, Danube and Elbe run through Germany
- Winters in the country are very cold while the summers can be very warm
- Germany has signed the Kyoto Protocol along with several other countries. The country is extremely environmentally conscious


Post a Comment